46th Circuit Friend of the Court

SMILE(Start Making it Liveable for Everyone) is an educational program for separating/divorced parents with minor children. The focus of the program is to assist parents in understanding the impact of divorce on the children, to help parents better understand the needs of their children and to promote children’s healthy adjustment to divorce.

Parties filing for divorce in the 46th Circuit are required by court order to attend the program prior to the final divorce hearing. They may attend a program held in any of the 46th Circuit Counties noted below.


Monday, January 4, 2016 Gaylord

Monday, February 1, 2016 Grayling

Monday, March 7, 2016 Kalkaska

Monday, April 11, 2016 Gaylord

Monday, May 2, 2016 Grayling

Monday, June 6, 2016 Kalkaska

Monday, July 11, 2016 Gaylord

Monday, August 1, 2016 Grayling

Monday, September 12, 2016 Kalkaska

Monday, October 3, 2016 Gaylord

Monday, November 7, 2016 Grayling

Monday, December 5, 2016 Kalkaska

Gaylord Location:
Courtroom 102 - Alpine Center

800 Livingston Blvd.

Main entrance at rear of building

Grayling Location:
Circuit Courtroom, County Building

200 W. Michigan Avenue

Kalkaska Location:
Circuit Courtroom

Governmental Center

605 N. Birch Street


All programs begin at 6:00 p.m.

NOTE: If school is closed due to inclement weather in the county in which SMILE is scheduled, the SMILE program will not take place that month in that county.